My Second Home in Taiwan

IMG_20140420_025513

I’m fortunate to be able to explore the beautiful island through my husband’s eyes. I hung out with my husband at his childhood hangout in Gongguan, had hot pot with his elementary school classmates and go to the same movie theater he went when he was a teenager. My husband’s former co-worker even invited us to go for a hike with him.

bento

I ordered my first bento box on the train on my way to Taitung. I got the chicken!  Japanese tourists (especially the older generation) would get on the train simply for this traditional bento box to go down on memory lane, so to speak.

taits5take3

My adventures on the island wouldn’t be the same without my extended family. No really, it’s true. My husband’s younger brother has a home in Taitung. I always enjoy eating the ice cream when I visit. There are a list of places to visit such as Taitung Fruit Market, Zhiben hot springs and especially the Museum of Prehistory. The Museum of Prehistory is a kid-friendly archaeological museum; it’s basically located near the airport. The museum was opened in 2002. I would like to learn Taiwan’s natural history and explore the culture prehistoric Austronesian peoples and today’s indigenous tribes.

gf
gf2gf5
I’m all about the holidays with my husband’s family members. For an example, I had mooncake for Mid Autumn Festival recently.

I’m also learning Chinese culture through my mother-in-law.  I also don’t have to pay for lessons like many foreigners  to learn 古琴. Now don’t get me started on her cooking – she cooks me my all-time favourite curry.

keekee4kee6

Now I’m craving tofu.

imger kee3

I don’t have to travel so far to feel I’m in another world. From my mother’s place – 30 minutes away from the ocean (Keelung), 20 minutes away from the mountains (Wulai) and near the hot springs. If  I want to get away from the city, I really can. 讓我們逃離混凝土叢林,遠離霓虹燈。

C360_2014-04-05-21-13-44-190

My mother-in-law, husband and I went to Wulai and had fresh vegetables straight from the mountains. What a difference. I went to the same place Andrew Zimmern has been to when he shot one of his episodes in Taiwan (he was also a huge fan).

Not that we need to get away for our adventures. We sometimes get a kick out of our own neighborhood late at night.

You basically look in and press a button to take your picture. You will see your face on the screen. I think I had too much fun than I should have but sometimes the little things is what makes me smile. I’m so glad to be back in my second home even if it’s just for a little while.

5 thoughts on “My Second Home in Taiwan

  1. This is totally amazing! OF course, I don’t know anyone from your side of world, which is unfortunate because mother earth does not differentiate between nations and places. I would very much like to keep track of your jottings here. Would be an absolute pleasure 🙂

  2. Wowwwwwww that food looks so good! Breathtaking scenery, too! I love how Taiwan actually preserves its natural landscapes unlike China, ha.

    Are you learning calligraphy? Is that your mother-in-law? Wow she is REALLY good! I studied calligraphy for 2 years and I love it, it’s so soothing.

Leave a comment